Mission to Cambodia #12 – God answers prayer!

Posted: October 30, 2013 in Missions
Tags:

In Psalm 34:1-4, David declares, “I will bless the LORD at all time; His praise shall continually be in my mouth. My soul shall make its boast in the LORD; the humble shall hear of it and be glad. Oh, magnify the LORD with me, and let us exalt His name together. I sought the LORD, and He heard me, and delivered me from all my fears.” For David, he had found himself in the royal court of the Philistines as he had been on the run from Saul. Whereas David initially sought refuge among the enemies of Israel, the Philistine leadership did not want this Hebrew warrior among them. All of a sudden, David was in trouble, and he needed the deliverance of God – and God did it.

In a vastly different context, I can relate to God’s deliverance from fear. For me, it was not fear of the loss of my life, but fear of failure to complete the task that was set before me. I had been asked to teach Matthew 14-28 to the students of Harvest Bible College, and although I knew that the amount of material would be vast, I still ended up falling behind in my desire to teach the Word faithfully. My constant prayer over my days of teaching has been that God would help me “catch up,” without glossing over the very important details in the gospel of Matthew. Even as I did my best, it seemed that I would fail – and I feared that the pastor/student would not have a completed book.

Yet to the glory of God, God delivered me from my fears. And He did so in the most marvelous of ways: He gave me time where there was none to give.

Pastors Dave and Ivy have also been diligent in their teachings, but the books they had been assigned are vastly shorter than the 2nd half of Matthew. As a result, they are each finishing a day early, which gives me the entire day Thursday to teach. This allows me to continue to teach the book faithfully, without purposefully glossing over details that are important. There is still a need for wisdom in communicating what is most important – but there is now the time to complete the task that is before me.

I can hardly express the joy I have at this news. It had been a remote possibility earlier in the class schedule, and now it is a reality. God is so very good!

Although we sometimes give lip-service to the idea, we need to remember that God loves to answer prayer. Jesus taught His disciples to pray persistently, and not lose heart. Paul prayed continually for the churches he planted, and he had every expectation that God would answer. We can think about every hero of the faith throughout the Bible, and one of the consistent themes among all of them is that they were men and women of prayer. Abraham took it upon himself to pray and intercede before The Lord. Moses regularly spoke to God as a man speaks to his friend. Joshua turned to The Lord in prayer prior to entering the Promised Land. Hannah fervently appealed to God in prayer. David left us dozens and dozens of historical records of his prayers in the Psalms, and the list goes on. Each one prayed to God in faith, expected God to answer according to His will and glory, and saw the work of God before their eyes.

So will we, if we do the same.

We do not impose our will upon The Lord, but we do seek The Lord in faithful prayer, and we can expect God to answer. And as He does, we can bless & magnify The Lord our God!

Leave a Reply

