“Radical Together,” by David Platt

Posted: October 25, 2011 in Book review

“Radical Together,” by David Platt of the Church at Brook Hills is the follow-up to the book simply entitled “Radical.” Whereas the first book was a call to individual Christians to live sacrificially devoted to the call of Jesus Christ, the second book takes the principles of “Radical” to the local church. Obviously Christians do not live in isolation from one another, but in a loving local body of believers, and “Radical Together” puts these sacrificial principles within the church context.

I greatly enjoyed this book. I have to admit that prior to reading it, I was a bit skeptical – thinking that perhaps Dr. Platt was starting to simply build a brand for himself, but my skepticism was quickly swept aside as I read the book. The book is theologically convicting, and yet extremely practical. Platt challenges churches to look beyond what is “good” and instead look for what is “best” – to go beyond the normal way of doing American ministry, and truly seek out how God may want to use us for His glory in a truly amazing way.

I’d highly recommend the book for anyone involved in ministry – it is well worth your time.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Waterbrook/Multnomah book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

